Bangladesh Time

Home» Cricket »SS 105 partnership bring First T20 win over Pakistan
SS 105 partnership bring First T20 win over Pakistan
Friday, 24 April, 2015 10:03pm  
SS 105 partnership bring First T20 win over Pakistan
Bangladesh Time: An unbeaten partnership of 105 runs between Shakib Al Hasan and Sabbir Rahman gave Bangladesh their first ever victory over Pakistan in T20 matches at Mirpur today.

Shakib was the top scorer for Tigers, remaining not out on 57 runs. He smashed nine fours in his match winning knock.

He was ably supported by man-of-the-match Sabbir Rahman, who was more aggressive than his illustrious partner as he bludgeoned 51 runs from only 43 balls, with seven hits across the fence and a huge six to the delight of the home crowd.

Sabbir was the first to reach his fifty after facing only 31 balls. In the next ball of Wahab Riaz’s over, Shakib smashed a boundary and brought up his fifty in style, playing 40 balls to reach his milestone.

After the fall of Mushfiq’s wicket, Sabbir Rahman joined Shakib Al Hasan at the crease, and began milking the Pakistani bowling with ease.

Mushfiqur Rahim spanked four boundaries in his knock of 19 runs, but inside-edged Wahab Riaz’s in-swinging delivery on to the stumps, and departed when the score reached 38 runs.

Tamim Iqbal was blasting away from ball one, having struck two fours and a big six in the first over of the chase bowled by Mohammad Hafeez. Unfortunately, his innings was abruptly cut short when he edged Umar Gul’s second ball to Mohammad Hafeez, returning to the pavilion after making 14 runs from 10 balls.

Soumya Sarkar’sT20 debut ended without having faced a ball as he was brilliantly run out to Saeed Ajmal’s bullet throw from square leg.

Earlier, Haris Sohail remained unbeaten on 30 runs from 24 runs, but was unable to score quickly late in the innings.

Tigers conceded only seven runs in the 19th and 20th over bowled by Shakib Al Hasan and Taskin Ahmed respectively, chocking Pakistan of much needed runs for a big total.

Debutant Mustafizur returned for his last spell and bowled like a seasoned campaigner, conceding only four runs in his over and more importantly dismissing Mohammad Hafeez for 26 runs. Hafeez was looking to accelerate, and he struck four boundaries in his innings.

Mustafizur was the most successful bowler for Tigers as he picked up two wickets for only 20 runs in his four overs.

Pakistan lost their second opener Mukhtar Ahmed who was looking dangerous with 37 runs from 30 balls (five fours, one six) when he missed a quicker one from Arafat Sunny, swung hard, lost his balance and dragged his back foot out of the crease. Mushfiqur whipped the bails swiftly and sent the batsman back to the pavilion.

Mukhtar was the top scorer for his team in this match.

Mustafizur Rahman got the big fish as his maiden T20 wicket when he had Shahid Afridi caught behind for only 12 runs. After being smashed for six, Mustafizur came back in the best manner with a back of a length delivery that Afridi nicked to Mushfiqur Rahim behind the stumps.

Taskin Ahmed with his clever variation of pace fooled Ahmed Shehzad as the batsman threw the kitchen sink at the ball. Shehzad stuttered to make 17 runs from 31 balls, with two boundaries to his name.

Mustafizur Rahman and Soumya Sarkar (Bangladesh) and Mohammad Rizwan and Mukhtar Ahmed (Pakistan) were given T20 caps for today’s game.

Bangladesh Team
Tamim Iqbal,  Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain,  Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain), Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed and Mustafizur Rahman

Pakistan Team
Shahid Afridi (Captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Mukhtar Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (Wicketkeeper), Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul and Wahab Riaz

This Categories More News -
Close [X]